Sinn Spezialuhren GmbH ●
Im Füldchen 5 – 7 ●
60489 Frankfurt am Main ●
+49 (0)69-978414-200

HYDRO

The UX model under water: with oil filling on the left aud without it on the right (for comparative purposes).


Our HYDRO watches are all equipped with a temperature-stabilised chronometer quartz movement and powerful, long-lasting lithium batteries.


Because they require oil, HYDRO watches must be quartz watches, as the oscillation of the balance in a mechanical watch would be unable to overcome the friction resistance of a liquid.


HYDRO

Reflection-free under water readable

Absolutely free from fogging, pressure-resistant at any accessible diving depth and perfect readability from any angle under water – these are the unbeatable advantages of our diving watches equipped with HYDRO Technology. How does it work? The movement, dial and hands are immersed directly in a crystal-clear bath of oil. The watch is thus free from fogging, as there is no air inside the case.

Filling the HYDRO watch case. The model shown here is the UX GSG9 (EZM 2B).

The principle

In a HYDRO watch case, the movement, dial and hands are held in a crystal-clear bath of fluid with the same refractive index as that of the sapphire crystal glass. This means that the light reflected by the dial and hands is not refracted as it enters the sapphire crystal glass.

The fluid is also incompressible. It replaces the air inside the case which inevitably contains moisture. This yields a whole range of advantages.


The latest generation of our HYDRO watches, the UX (EZM 2B) series. Compared with diving watches of other brands. Thanks to Hydro-Technology, Sinn is the only brand that facilitates reflection-free, underwater viewing.

Advantage: Reflection-free under water

The crystal of a conventional diver's watch will unavoidably reflect light under water - but not a HYDRO watch. A HYDRO watch can be read from oblique angles under water, just as it can when out of water. The reason for the characteristic mirroring effect is the total reflection on the bottom of the crystal. If the optical medium ofsapphire crystal is succeeded by the medium of air (looking towards the dial), the light will only be reflected and no longer refracted from a certain angle. This prevents the light from penetrating the interface between the sapphire crystal and the air-filled space containing the hands. From this angle, the effect is similar to that of looking at a mirror. The hands are no longer visible.

Replacing the air in the cavity containing the hands with a fluid which shares the same optical characteristics as the sapphire crystal glass neutralises this effect, making the watch face fully readable even at highly oblique angles.

Advantage: Completely free from fogging

The absence of any air inside the case keeps our HYDRO watches completely free from fogging. Fogging only occurs in air which contains moisture; this can condense if the temperate falls below the “dew point”. Where there is no air humidity - there can be no condensation!

Advantage: Pressure-resistant at all possible diving depths

Fluids are virtually incompressible. The membrane back allows the internal pressure of the watch to adjust constantly to the external pressure. Thus the HYDRO watch is pressure-resistant at any accessible diving depth. The pressure load which otherwise builds between the internal assembly pressure of a watch (1 bar) and the external water pressure (which increases by 1 bar per 10 m depth of water) does not arise in a HYDRO watch.

Sinn Spezialuhren GmbH ●
Im Füldchen 5 – 7 ●
60489 Frankfurt am Main ●
+49 (0)69-978414-200

HYDRO

Taucheruhr UX (EZM 2B) unter Wasser im Vergleich: Links mit und rechts (nur zur Demonstration) ohne Ölfüllung.


Jede HYDRO-Uhr ist auf Grund der Ölfüllung notwendigerweise eine Quarzuhr, denn die Unruhschwingung einer mechanischen Uhr könnte den hohen Reibungswiderstand eines flüssigen Mediums nicht überwinden.


HYDRO

Unter Wasser verspiegelungsfrei ablesbar.

Verspiegelungsfreie Ablesbarkeit unter Wasser aus jedem Winkel, absolute Beschlagsicherheit und Druckfestigkeit für jede erreichbare Tauchtiefe – diese unschlagbaren Vorteile bieten unsere mit der HYDRO-Technologie ausgestatteten Taucheruhren.

Befüllen des HYDRO Uhrengehäuses, hier am Beispiel der UX GSG9 (EZM 2B).

Das Prinzip

In einem HYDRO-Uhrgehäuse sind Werk, Zifferblatt und Zeiger direkt in einem glasklaren Flüssigkeitsbad gelagert. Dessen Brechungsindex ist an den Brechungsindex des Saphirkristallglases angeglichen. Als Folge davon wird das Licht, das von Zifferblatt und Zeigern ausgeht, beim Eintritt in das Saphirkristallglas nicht mehr gebrochen.

Außerdem ist die Füllflüssigkeit inkompressibel und ersetzt die stets feuchtigkeitshaltige Luft im Inneren des Gehäuses. Daraus ergibt sich eine Reihe von Vorteilen.

Die neueste Generation unserer HYDRO Uhren, die Baureihe UX (EZM 2B). Im Vergleich mit Taucheruhren anderer Marken. Dank HYDRO Technologie als Einzige unter Wasser verspiegelungsfrei ablesbar.

Vorteil: unter Wasser verspiegelungsfrei

Die für Taucheruhren sonst unvermeidbare Verspiegelung des Glases unter Wasser wird ausgeschaltet. Eine HYDRO-Uhr ist unter Wasser aus genauso flachen Winkeln ablesbar, wie man es von einer Armbanduhr außerhalb des Tauchgangs gewohnt ist. Grund für die gewöhnlichen Verspiegelungseffekte ist die Totalreflexion an der Unterseite des Glases. Folgt auf das optische Medium Saphirkristall das Medium Luft (in Richtung Zifferblatt), findet ab einem bestimmten Winkel nur noch Reflexion des Lichtes und keine Brechung mehr statt. Das Licht kann also die Grenze vom Saphirkristall zum luftgefüllten Bereich, in dem sich die Zeiger bewegen, nicht mehr durchbrechen. Man hat ab diesem Winkel den Eindruck, auf einen Spiegel zu blicken. Die Zeiger sind nicht mehr sichtbar.

Indem nun die Luft, in der sich die Zeiger bewegen, durch eine Flüssigkeit ersetzt wird, welche über die gleichen optischen Eigenschaften verfügt wie der Saphirkristall, entfällt dieser Effekt, und die Ablesbarkeit ist wiederhergestellt, selbst unter sehr flachen Winkeln.

Vorteil: absolut beschlagsicher

Da sich keine Luft im Gehäuseinneren mehr befindet, sind unsere HYDRO-Uhren absolut beschlagsicher. Beschlagbildung ist nur dann möglich, wenn Luftfeuchte vorhanden ist, die bei einem Abfall der Temperatur auf Werte unterhalb des Taupunkts kondensieren kann. Wo keine Luftfeuchte ist, kann sich auch kein Kondensationseffekt einstellen!

Vorteil: druckfest für jede erreichbare Tauchtiefe

Flüssigkeiten sind nahezu inkompressibel. Dadurch gleicht sich der Innendruck der Uhr auf Grund eines Membranbodens stets an den äußeren Druck an. Damit ist die HYDRO-Uhr für jede erreichbare Tauchtiefe druckfest. Die sonst bestehende Drucklast zwischen dem inneren Montagedruck einer Uhr (1 bar) und dem äußeren Wasserdruck (Zuwachs um 1 bar pro 10 m Wassertiefe) wird bei einer HYDRO-Uhr gar nicht erst aufgebaut.